Skip to content

Meatless Monday: Greens with Carrots, Feta, and Brown Rice

September 19, 2011

Happy Monday! How was your weekend? I spent the weekend in Kentuckiana, and while I had a really great time, my diet wasn’t so good. I’ve been eating whole grains, fruits, and veggies for a few weeks now, and my body has gotten used to going without eating meat and dairy products. I tried to be good! At the bbq we went to on Saturday I avoided the meat (but ate two cupcakes), and I even skipped sausage gravy with Sunday morning’s biscuits.  That is where my discipline ended though, and before Sunday was over I had topped off a slice of meat lover’s pizza and even a cheeseburger! I feel like sh*t today!

It’s a new week, and I’m relieved it’s Meatless Monday.  My hubby knows to expect a vegetarian dinner tonight (and probably most nights this week)! Tonight’s meal is super easy to make, takes only a few ingredients, and is really versatile. You can make it vegan by leaving out the feta, sub in a different cheese (grated parmesan sounds good to me too), switch up the greens, and even use quinoa instead of the brown rice.  I made a big batch of this last week, and ate it for lunch almost daily. I even tossed some into a covered glass dish and took it to the park for a picnic with the kids!

I found this recipe on the Whole Foods website, and here is a printer-friendly version for your convenience. Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

