Skip to content

Meatless Monday: Sweet Potato & Lentil Stew

September 12, 2011

Wow! It’s been a long time since I’ve done a MM post. It’s not that we haven’t been eating meatless meals; in fact, we’ve been eating predominantly vegetarian meals this summer. Some of our unposted MM meals are: slow-roasted tomato sauce served with baked spaghetti squash, a light(er) version of eggplant parmesan, and numerous combinations of veggie tacos, quesadillas and pizzas. The problem is that I just haven’t had much time to blog. My son (sniff, sniff) started kindergarten last month, and family life has picked up the pace a bit. Also, the weather has improved and I’m not too keen on sitting at the computer when it’s beautiful outside!

In an effort to further my own knowledge about nutrition, and to keep us with an abundant supply of new recipes to try out, I’ve been borrowing stacks of cookbooks and “diet” books from the library. I just read The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone, and now I’m reading If it Makes You Healthy by Sheryl Crow. Both books discuss the influence diet has on our health, offer perspective on why these women eat the way they eat, and share tons of recipes. I like these books because they quench my thirst for knowledge AND for cooking – I’m a mom, so I have to multi-task!

This recipe came from The Kind Diet, and is a vegan recipe (which I’m currently “dabbling” in). Alicia recommends serving it on its own, with a side of steamed greens and a corn muffin, or as a “soupy stew” over brown basmati rice or couscous. I’m enjoying some at the moment, and I have to tell you it tastes so good its’ like there is a carnival taking place on my tongue! Yep. I went there!

Ingredients

1/4 c. safflower oil (I used olive oil)

1 medium onion, diced

2 small tomatoes, diced (one can of no-salt-added, diced tomatoes, drained would work too)

1 tsp. fresh minced ginger (I didn’t have any on hand, so I omitted it)

1 1/2 tsp. turmeric

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. ground coriander (once again omitted due to supply)

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

A pinch of fine sea salt

3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 3/4″ cubes

7 c. vegetable broth (I used Better than Bullion vegetable base)

1 c. lentils (whatever kind you have on hand will work)

Directions

  1. Heat the oil over medium heat in a large, deep pot. Add the onion and cook, stirring often until the onion starts to soften (about 2 minutes).
  2. Stir in the tomatoes (and ginger) and cook for 3 minutes. Add the turmeric, cumin, (coriander), cinnamon, cayenne, and a pinch of salt and cook for another 2 minutes stirring constantly.
  3. Add the sweet potatoes, vegetable broth, and lentils. Stir well, and bring to a boil over high heat.
  4. Once the stew starts boiling, reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 4o minutes (or until lentils and sweet potatoes are tender).
  5. Enjoy!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 8:16 pm

    I love sweet potatoes. I’ll have to give this a whirl.

    • September 19, 2011 9:47 am

      It’s delicious! Thanks for stopping by, and you have a lovely blog! Beautiful pictures!

  2. Sandra Ronan permalink
    September 25, 2011 5:08 pm

    Best soup I’ve ever had in my whole life. (58)
    Even better after it sits in the refrig for several days. Love it, thank you.

    • September 26, 2011 3:04 pm

      I’m glad you loved it! I’m ready to make another batch…it’s a major “feel good” soup!

Leave a Reply

