Skip to content

Brown Rice Syrup: A Healthier Sugar Substitute

September 8, 2011

I recently discovered Brown Rice Syrup, a sweetener made of (surprise!) brown rice. About 50% of this syrup is made up of complex carbohydrates, so it’s a lot easier on the blood sugar than regular sugar, and contains fewer calories.  While it is a great choice for those trying to limit the amount of sugar in their diets, it is a calorie-containing food, so you can’t go crazy.

I made the most amazing brown rice crispy treats last week, and the recipe (which I will share eventually) introduced me to this sweetener. This morning I used it in my coffee instead of stevia, and it was pretty good. It’s not quite as sweet as sugar (or stevia), and I like that it didn’t completely overshadow the flavor of the coffee.

You can bake with it, use it in place of syrups, add it to smoothies, etc… I plan to use a lot more of this in the future in my muffin and quick bread recipes.

According to the jar of Lundberg rice syrup I purchased:  “To substitute sugar in recipes, use 1 1/4 c. rice syrup for one cup of sugar, and use 1/4 c. less of another liquid needed in the recipe.” Also, this link shares some pretty interesting information about brown rice syrups.

What do you do with brown rice syrup? Do you have any recipes to share?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

