Skip to content

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

July 21, 2011

Last month, my favorite fellow blogger, Working Mom Goes Green, did a series of recipe posts to make use of the plethora of rhubarb she received from a friend. Being someone with zero experience with rhubarb, but a newfound willingness to try anything, I decided to try some. I found some rhubarb at the farmers’ market, and bought a bunch. At first I wanted to try WMGG’s strawberry rhubarb freezer jam, but then again, a cobbler sounded good too. I searched the web for rhubarb recipes, and what I came up with has changed my life! I found a recipe for strawberry rhubarb crisp on the Allrecipes site and it sounded exactly like what I was looking for. I tweaked the recipe quite a bit, adding more strawberries, rhubarb, and flour,  while cutting back on the sugar, so the recipe below is my version of it. Wow! It was good! My husband called it his second favorite dessert that I’ve made (behind my chocolate peanut butter pie).

Ingredients

  • 4 c. sliced strawberries
  • 4 c. rhubarb (about 1 pound), sliced into chunks like celery
  • 3/4 c. granulated sugar (I might even try 1/2 c. next time)
  • 1 1/2 c. + 5 Tbsp. unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 c. rolled oats
  • 1 c. packed brown sugar
  • 1 c. butter

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, toss the strawberries & rhubarb with 5 Tbsp. of flour and the granulated sugar. Transfer the flour/sugar-coated goodies to a 9 x 13 baking dish.
  3. Reusing the large bowl (I’m looking out for your dish pile here), mix 1 1/2 c. flour, brown sugar, butter and oats until crumbly. To do this right you’ll need a pastry blender (about $3 at Wal-mart). Crumble evenly on top of the rhubarb/strawberry mixture.
  4. Bake for 45 minutes, or until lightly browned and crispy.
  5. Enjoy! Eat it straight from the pan, or top with vanilla bean ice cream!

Sliced Berries & 'Barb

Coated Berries & 'Barb

In it goes...

Out it comes!

Seriously, who knew that a vegetable that looks like pink celery could be so good?!?!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

