Skip to content

Meatless Monday: Baked Kale Chips

July 18, 2011

When I turned 21, I got a job working in the cantina at Chi Chi’s. It was a great job, but I had to set up the free chips n’ salsa bar in the mornings, which involved filling the ice well and then “decorating” it with kale. That is as far as my experience with kale goes. I may have had some tasty soups containing kale, but I think that is about it.

Anyhoo, my favorite little local farmer’s market had kale over the weekend, so I bought some. I found this recipe in an e-newsletter that I receive from a local organic farm. I have to admit that I was leery at first, but I followed the directions, and the chips were really good. I put them on the table for the kids to try while I was fixing lunch, and they were nearly gone by the time I sat down. A perfect substitute for potato chips!

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch of kale (enough to fill a large bowl)
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • Sea salt, to taste (but use sparingly)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.
  2. Rinse, and dry the kale ( I used a salad spinner and then placed them on a dish towel) and then remove the stems and tough center ribs.
  3. Cut into large pieces, toss with olive oil in a large bowl, and then sprinkle lightly with sea salt.
  4. Arrange leaves in a single layer on a large baking sheet, and bake for 20 minutes, or until crisp. Keep an eye on them! I think I over-cooked mine just a bit.
  5. Enjoy! Serve alone or with desired dressing (we used ranch).
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 12:48 pm

    Kale chips are fantastic. If you don’t use the curly type, you need to cut the bake time in half, or more. The flat kale is much thinner, and burns quickly.

Leave a Reply

