Skip to content

Meatless Monday: Summer Veggie Frittata

July 4, 2011

I love eggs! They are so versatile, tasty, and perfect for any meal. Right now, the vegetables are growing like crazy, and I’m taking advantage. We grilled corn-on-the-cob for dinner last night, and this morning as I was cutting the kernels off of a leftover cob I wondered how the corn would taste with eggs. I didn’t stop there, and threw in some sliced zucchini, red peppers, and sweet onions too! The result was a super tasty veggie frittata that my whole family loved!

Here is the recipe of what I made. The measurements are approximate, so feel free to “doowutchyalike”.  Sorry, I’ve been listening to a bit of old school hip hop lately, and I just had to throw in a Digital Underground reference. Does that show my age or what?

Ingredients

  • 3/4 of a medium zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 of a red pepper, sliced into thin strips
  • Kernels from one ear of grilled sweet corn (or about 1 c. frozen corn kernels)
  • 1/3 of a sweet onion, diced
  • 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/3 tsp. italian seasoning
  • 5 eggs (local, free range preferred)
  • 1/4 c. milk
  • Shredded cheese of your choice to sprinkle on top – I used sharp cheddar

Directions

  1. Preheat broiler on high.
  2. Heat a small amount of olive oil in a skillet;  not too much because you don’t want to saute the veggies. Add the veggies and italian seasoning, cover and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until the veggies are tender yet still crisp. I suppose you could use water instead of the oil; as long as you are using a nonstick skillet. I use stainless steel.
  3. While the veggies are cooking, whisk the eggs and the milk until fluffy. Pour over the veggies, and reduce heat to low. Cook until the eggs are almost set; the top will still be a bit runny.
  4. Remove the skillet from heat, sprinkle with cheese and place under the broiler for just a few minutes (this will cook the top of the eggs & melt the cheese).
  5. Slice, serve and enjoy!

How do you like your eggs???

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 11:33 pm

    This looks delicious!!

Leave a Reply

