Skip to content

Meatless Monday: Sauteed Beet Greens w/ Olive Oil, Onion & Parmesan

June 20, 2011

I hit up the farmer’s market over the weekend, in search of some lovely beets with which to bake this delicious beet cake (a post for another day perhaps):

Obviously, I found the beets and made the cake, but I wasn’t sure what to do with these good-looking beet greens:

I thought that they might taste a lot like spinach or kale, so I decided to throw some in a skillet with oil and saute` them up. It turns out they are pretty stinkin’ good! I just heated some olive oil on medium heat, tossed in 1-2 chopped garlic cloves, and a handful of sliced onions. Saute` the garlic & onions until they soften up a bit, and then toss in the greens.

Cook, stirring often, until the greens are tender. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese (all I had on hand today was the cheapy version, but it worked), and a pinch of salt and pepper. Enjoy!!!

**Oh, and some other advice is to cut away as much of the stem as possible. The stems were super chewy, and I didn’t like their texture. I ended up cutting the greens away from the stems/stalks. It tasted a lot like spinach!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

