Skip to content

Meatless Monday: Black Bean & Vidalia Sweet Onion Pizza (w/ Whole Wheat Crust)

June 13, 2011

You can easily make healthy food fast by doing some advanced prep. On the evenings I have to work, I cook during the day; and sometimes when I have a busy week ahead, I’ll make 2 or 3 dinners at once so that we’re not tempted to grab something more convenient when we’re exhausted or rushed. I have to say that some days I feel like I spend the entire day in the kitchen, but it works for my family, so I’m happy to do it!

Anyhoo, homemade pizza is a super easy way to make dinner fast & healthy. This dough recipe comes from my Earthbound Cook cookbook, makes enough for 2-3 pizzas, and freezes wonderfully. I’ll make a batch of dough, divide it into thirds, wrap what I’m not using, and freeze for use on another busy day. Sometimes we’ll make breadsticks to go with the pizza, or use the dough to make calzones. You really can do a lot with this dough. When the dough is already ready, you can come home, roll it out, throw on some toppings, and voilà! Dinner is ready!

For the whole wheat dough:

Ingredients

  • 2 packets active dry yeast
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 3/4 c. very warm water
  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil, plus 1 Tbsp. to oil the bowl
  • 1 3/4 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 c. unbleached, all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 1/2 Tbsp. salt (the recipe I use calls for 1 Tbsp, but it’s too much. I don’t even add a full 1/2 Tbsp to mine)

Directions

  1. Place the yeast and sugar in a large bowl. Add warm water and whisk to blend. Cover the bowl with a clean kitchen towel and let the mixture sit until it is foamy, about 5 minutes. Then add 3 Tbsp. olive oil and stir to combine.
  2. Stir in whole wheat and white flours in several increments – 1 c. whole wheat, then 1 c. white – mixing until the dough is slightly sticky. You may not need all the flour (bit it usually takes it all for me). Stir in the salt.
  3. Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and knead it until smooth and elastic, about 5 minutes. **Note, I have found this dough to be super sticky during the kneading process. So much so that it sticks to my hands. I just flour my hands, and continue to knead away until it’s not super sticky.
  4. Dampen a kitchen towel and wring it out well.
  5. Lightly oil a large bowl, place the dough in it, and turn the dough over so that it is lightly coated with oil. Cover the bowl with the damp towel, and set it aside in a draft-free place until the dough has doubled in size, about 1 hour.
  6. Gently punch down the dough to deflate it, and then divide it into thirds.
  7. Use one third to make your pizza, and individually wrap the others to store. The dough can be refrigerated for up to 24 hours, or frozen for 2 months (let the frozen dough thaw int the fridge overnight before using).

For the pizza (and you can put WHATEVER you like on yours):

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Lightly flour a work surface and a rolling pin. Shape the dough by patting it into a flat, round disk. Then roll it out to form a  14-inch round, 1/8 to 1/4-inch thick.
  3. Gently transfer the dough to a pizza stone.
  4. Bake the naked dough for about 8 minutes, or until it just starts to brown.
  5. Add desired sauces & toppings, and return to oven until the cheese is melted and bubbly, approximately another 8-12 minutes.
    • I used basil pesto as the sauce for one half of the pizza, and Muir Glen pizza sauce for the other half.
    • 1/2 medium-sized sweet Vidalia onion, diced
    • Canned black beans, rinsed and drained. Use as much or as little as you like. I used about 3/4 of the can.
    • 2 c. part-skim mozzarella cheese (for a 14 to 16- inch pizza)
  6. Slice, serve with a lovely salad and enjoy!!!

What do you like to put on your pizza? Some of our favorite toppings are bacon, spinach, tomato, black beans, red onions, garlic, and chicken!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 5:40 pm

    this looks amazing, my whole family loves black beans I’m sure it will be a hit! Thanks

Leave a Reply

