Skip to content

Organic Cinnamon Applesauce: Crockpot Style

May 11, 2011

I found a recipe for apple spice cake that I’m dying to try out, but it calls for applesauce, and I usually don’t buy it. We love applesauce, but apples are one of the fruits that we always buy organic, so it’s the same for applesauce. Well, you may or may not know that organic applesauce is pricey. Really pricey. A 23 oz jar of organic applesauce costs close to $5, so I only buy it when it’s on sale!

Anyway, I want to make this spice cake, so I decided to make homemade applesauce to use in the recipe. I’ve never made it before, and I didn’t have a recipe on hand,  so I hit the internet in search of one I liked. The first one I found was Sarah’s Applesauce Recipe and had tons of positive reviews. It is basic & easy, and I’m sure I’ll use it sometime, but I kept searching just to see what else was out there. I was in the process of getting dinner ready, so I wanted to find a good crockpot recipe that could do the cooking for me! I found the “one” on The Frugal Girls blog. I picked it because it had a very small amount of sugar, and I liked the idea of adding vanilla to the mix. It is super cinnamony (if that is a word) and it is delicious!

Ingredients

  • 6 medium organic apples, peeled, cored, cut into chunks
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 Tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Place apple chunks into a crockpot.
  2. In a small bowl, combine the remaining ingredients and whisk. Pour into the crockpot and stir gently to thoroughly coat all the apples.
  3. Cover and cook on low for 3-4 hours; until apples are soft.
  4. Depending on the texture you want for your applesauce – You can mash with a potato masher for chunky applesauce, or throw in a blender for a smooth texture. I pureed mine in the blender.
  5. Serve once cool, refrigerate for 4-5 days, or freeze in  freezer-safe canning jars.

The 6 apple recipe didn’t make a lot of applesauce – it didn’t even fill up the 23oz. jar, so next time I’ll double or triple it, and throw a jar in the freezer for later consumption. I’ll be making the apple cake sometime in the next day or so, so I’ll share that recipe too if I turns out to be a winner!

Leave a Reply

