Skip to content

Product Packaging Pet Peeves

May 10, 2011

Cucumbers aren’t on the Dirty Dozen list, so I usually don’t feel the need to buy them organic, but  I do buy them locally when they are available. There was a cucumber recall recently, so I opted for organic this time. The only organic cucumbers available were grossly over-packaged and shipped from Mexico. The green “angel” on one shoulder told me to go without, but the “devil” on the other shoulder reminded me that I had just made hummus specifically for dipping cucumbers in.

I bought the cucumbers, recycled the plastic tray they came in, and *gulp* threw away the plastic wrap. No one is perfect, right? Besides, “the devil made me do it!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

