Skip to content

Pumpkin-Peanut Butter Soup

May 1, 2011

Sounds like an odd combination, doesn’t it? I can tell you first hand that it’s delicious, and worth trying. I made some at my husband’s request this week, and we polished it off in one sitting. All it takes is a few ingredients, and very little prep. I found the original recipe in a Parent’s magazine, but adapted a bit. My kids usually aren’t crazy about soups, but they loved dipping grilled cheese sandwiches into this one! Serves 4-6.

Ingredients

  • ½ c. chopped onion
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 can (15 oz.) pumpkin puree
  • 2 tsp. better than bullion organic chicken base dissolved in  2 c. boiling water
  • 1 c. water
  • ½ c. natural peanut butter (low sodium)
  • ¼ tsp. curry
  • ¼ tsp. sea salt
  • cinnamon

Simple & Delicious!

Directions

1.      Heat olive oil on medium heat and add onions. Stir often until onions are tender – approximately 4 minutes.

2.      Stir in pumpkin, chicken broth, water, peanut butter, curry powder & salt. Heat through – stirring very often.

3.      Sprinkle cinnamon on top, and serve.

4.      Enjoy!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 11:01 am

    I like that your recipes are lower in sodium. I have heart disease and am on a 2000 mg. max of sodium a day. I try to stay within that or less. I will try this recipe without the salt. Where do you buy the “better than bullion organic chicken base”? Does it have sodium? Again, thanks for sharing.

    • May 9, 2011 11:35 am

      Lucy,

      Thanks for checking out my site! I go as low salt as possible when I cook! Often times I include the salt measurement in a recipe that I find, but I only use 1/2 of what it calls for (or none at all). I use sea salt because I’m told it’s a bit healthier. I’d rather eat food that is flavored with spices, or just naturally flavorful. I don’t want my kids to grow up addicted to salty foods!
      I found the Better Than Bullion at my local food co-op, but I have also seen it at Kroger. If you have a Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s in your area, you’ll definitely find it there. Mine has sodium in it, but they do make a low sodium version of it, as well as Beef and Vegetable bases. You can also just use low sodium chicken broth, but the BTB Chicken Base is really affordable, and one little jar makes tons of chicken broth. It lasts a long time! I love the affordability, convenience, and waste reduction that comes with using it! Let me know what you think if you make the soup!

      Thanks,

      Catie

Leave a Reply

