Skip to content

Meatless Monday Muffins: Banana Chocolate Chip

April 25, 2011

Okay, I admit that my photos usually stink. My kitchen is horribly lit, and my camera is not fabulous. Don’t take it out on the muffins!

Eat me.

Yesterday was Easter, and my husband & I planned a portable brunch menu so that we could celebrate Easter with my grandparents, who don’t get around so well anymore. We made a hearty breakfast casserole, sliced strawberries, and some delicious banana-chocolate chip muffins that we didn’t have a recipe for. The hubby knew what he wanted, but I scanned my cookbooks for a recipe and came up short. I browsed the internet, and some decent options came up, but none were quite what I wanted, so I took some ideas from a few recipes, and changed them up to suit my fancy. I should have noted the recipes I drew from, but I was in a hurry. The muffins were a hit, and a new recipe was born.

Here it is:

 Ingredients

  • 1 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 c. unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp. aluminum-free baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • ½ c. packed brown sugar
  • ½ tsp. sea salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 4 mashed, ripe bananas
  • 2 sticks of butter, melted (½ c.)
  • ¼ c. milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • ¾ c. chocolate chips

Directions

1.       Preheat oven to 375 degrees. My recipe made 17 medium-sized muffins, so grease muffin tins according to size. If you’re going large, 12 will probably work.

2.       Whisk all the powdered ingredients together, including the brown sugar.

3.       In a separate bowl, mix the bananas, butter, milk, vanilla & eggs.

4.       Add dry ingredients & chocolate chips to the banana mixture, and stir just until the ingredients are combined. As a rule, muffins shouldn’t be over-mixed.  Anyone know why?

5.       Bake for 18-20 minutes, and all allow muffins to cool a bit before removing them from the pan.

6.       Enjoy! These muffins were moist, and delicious.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

