Skip to content

Earth Day Challenge

April 19, 2011

My family & I live a green lifestyle, so for us, every day is Earth Day. While I truly appreciate what Earth Day stands for, I think most of the people who celebrate it are already converts to the green way of life. It’s a great time of year for us – we feel like we’re not the minority, and hippies come out of the woodwork to praise the planet!

This year, I’ve decided to mingle with the not-so-green folks to see if I can convince a few of them to consider making some changes. I’m going to beat the streets of my neighborhood and ask my neighbors to recycle!

I live in a rural subdivision, and a great little community. We have nice-sized yards, the houses aren’t “cookie cutter” variations of each other, and the people are friendly. Inside the Bloomington city limits, the residents get free curbside recycling from the city department of sanitation. Those of us who live outside the city limits have an excellent recycling center, but folks have to be willing to make the trip there – and I fear it’s the deal breaker for a lot of people. There is hope though – Hoosier Disposal has started offering curbside recycling to rural neighborhoods in our community, based on interest. The service is great – it’s only $2.50 per month, and you don’t have to sort your recycling. You just throw it in the toter they provide, and take it out to the curb every other week.

I have written a letter to each of my neighbors, and I plan to personally knock on every door, and ask them to join the new curbside recycling program. If I can generate enough interest – I’ll be able to call Hoosier Disposal enroll my neighborhood in the program. I have high hopes that I can help to make a change, and if I can convince my country neighbors to recycle – there is hope!

Wish me luck!!!

What are your Earth Day plans? I’d like to challenge each of you to exit your comfort zone and reach out to those less green this Earth Day. Is there something small you can do to try to convince others (just one person even) to make small-but-positive changes? I’d love to hear what you come up with, and how it works out for you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 5:00 pm

    Hope it works! Good luck…that seems like a reasonable price.

  2. Misty permalink
    April 20, 2011 10:35 am

    This is a wonderful idea my friend!!

Leave a Reply

