Skip to content

Homemade Lemon Green Tea Sugar Scrub

April 16, 2011

My brother & sister-in-law are expecting twin boys next month, and I’m co-hosting a baby shower in their honor this weekend. One of my contributions to the shower will be prizes for the winners of the shower games.

Since going green, gift giving has gotten hard for me. Not because I don’t like to give – but because gifts are way-too-often things that no one wants, or will ever use, and they just end up in the trash. I’ve been gifting a lot of beeswax candles and bars of locally made soap because I know they’ll get used, and not end up in a landfill eventually. I don’t know if folks appreciate my gifts, but my green lifestyle doesn’t stop where other people’s lifestyles start, so I give with my heart and my “green” conscience. This applies to baby showers as well.

Okay, I’m back from my tangent. Sugar scrubs. I made these for shower prizes yesterday, and spared some for myself as well. My shower was spa-like last night, and my skin felt smooth & silky.

Ingredients (for each pint):

1 2/3 c granulated sugar

1/2 c almond oil (this was kind of expensive, but I think olive oil would work just as well)

1 large green tea bag (or 4 smaller ones)

zest of one lemon

5 drops of lemon essential oil

1 pint glass jar w/ lid. Sterilized (Running it through the dishwasher works fine)

Directions:

  1. Pour almond oil in the jar, and place the tea bag down in the oil. Allow to sit in the sun for about 1 hour.
  2. Remove tea bag, and add remaining ingredients to jar. Stir to combine.
  3. Seal and decorate by tying a ribbon around the top of the jar, or use homemade labels.  I used fun paper on the lid (I wrote the recipe on the back side of the paper so it would go to use too), and raffia string to tie cute tags on the jars. I am the least crafty person on the planet, but I think they turned out adorably – I’m coming for you Martha Stewart!

Simple Ingredients

Sugar Scrub in a Bowl

*Tips – I made several of these, and I found it easier to mix all of the ingredients together in a stainless steel mixing bowl, and then fill each jar. The mixing was getting too messy when I tried stirring each individual jar.

**To use – In the shower, rub a small amount of the sugar scrub into clean skin and rinse.

***Safety Note – The oils in the sugar scrub can make the tub a bit slippery, so be careful. I’m told it’s not a good idea to get water down in the sugar scrub jar, so I put some in a plastic cup and brought it into the shower with me. This saves the issue of broken glass in the shower if you should drop the jar as well.

****To store – Keep water out of the jar, and store with lid closed tightly. It’s best to use all of the scrub within a month or two.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 16, 2011 3:57 pm

    good job!!! I love this project 🙂 i was at home crafting today!! instead at work counting pills and dealing with whiney cutomers…gues what I do 🙂

Leave a Reply

