Skip to content

Product Packaging Pet Peeves

April 11, 2011

My husband works outside, and has horrible allergies that result in swollen eyes and earth-shaking sneezes. He’s literally miserable this time of year, and is forced to take some kind of antihistamine to help cope with his allergies. I bought him some OTC Allegra on Friday, and when he opened the box, he immediately commented about how big the box was in relation to the size of the plastic bottle. They could have fit 2 bottles in the one box, or just gone sans box for that matter. What is the point of all this packaging?

While I think it’s important for consumers to make efforts not to buy overly packaged products, this is an area where the product producers really need to take responsibility. Sure,  we can use reusable grocery bags, and shop from the produce & bulk sections of our grocery stores, but what about products we NEED that are absurdly over-packaged? Do socks & underwear need to come in plastic bags when a simple cardboard sleeve works just as well?

My Product Packaging Plan is to:

  1. Share the products I find that are over packaged with you.
  2. Take a few minutes to contact these companies and tell them that I think their product contains wasteful packaging.
  3. Continue to reuse, reduce and recycle as much packaging as possible. For example:  I use shoe boxes for organizing puzzles & art supplies, I keep dry goods and make tea in glass food jars, I buy oats & dried fruit in bulk, I recycle bread and tortilla bags, etc…
  4. Search for products that are packaged in renewable, and recyclable materials. If I can’t reuse or reduce, I need to be able to recycle!

What products do you find to be wastefully packaged? What steps do you take to reduce product packaging?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 12:52 pm

    I love Trader Joe’s but often time they totally over package!

    • April 11, 2011 1:05 pm

      It’s funny you mentioned Trader Joe’s. I googled “wasteful product packaging” and Trader Joe’s popped up several times in the search field. I even ran across a petition that was created asking Trader Joe’s to reduce their packaging. We don’t have one in Bloomington.

  2. April 13, 2011 10:53 pm

    Hmmm, I haven’t noticed TJ’s to have more packaging that anyone else — except produce (so they don’t have to weigh it). I do avoid the produce in packaging. I can’t think of anything else with excessive packaging there.

    But, yes, I run into excessive packaging all the time. And how I LOVE it when I buy a product and it comes simply wrapped in a piece of paper (maybe with a piece of tape), which I can REUSE and then recycle. That’s how my Kids Konserve containers came, and also several reusable bags that I bought off Etsy.

    Thanks for all your input on the laundry cleaners.

Leave a Reply

