Skip to content

Get Grilling! Greek Pitas w/ Tzatziki

April 8, 2011

I spent a few months in Greece when I was a kid, and I absolutely loved the food. Souvlaki, feta cheese, tzatziki & I became good friends while I was there, but I had never attempted to make the “dill-icious” cucumber dip until now. I found a great Greek-style marinade for grilling chicken in Good Housekeeping magazine, and then turned to the internet for a tzatziki recipe. I paired my Greek chicken pitas with a glass of Pinot Noir, but my hubby preferred a Dragonfly IPA, from our local Upland microbrewery!

The tzatziki should be made a few hours before you plan to eat to allow the flavors time to mingle. I searched through several online recipes, and finally found the perfect one at Kalyn’s Kitchen.  I highly suggest you give her recipe a try.

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp. Fresh lemon juice
  • 4 tsp. Olive oil
  • ¼ tsp. Dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt
  • ½ tsp. Ground cumin
  • 1 clove Crushed garlic
  • 1 large Ripe tomato
  • 1 medium Onion (yellow or red)
  • 1 lb. Boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips
  • 5 Pitas (your choice of brand)
  • Feta cheese
  • Kalyn’s Kitchen recipe tzatziki

Directions

1.       In a pie plate, combine the following ingredients: 1Tbsp. lemon juice, 3 tsp. olive oil, oregano, 1/8 tsp. salt, cumin, and crushed garlic.

2.       Add chicken, turning a few times to thoroughly coat. Set in refrigerator for 30 minutes to allow the flavors to seep in to the chicken.

3.       Prep grill, and grill chicken for 10 -12 minutes or until no longer pink in center, turning once.

4.       Meanwhile, slice the onion into slivers, and the tomato into chunks. Toss into a large bowl with remaining lemon juice, olive oil and salt.  **Don’t like raw onion? – Dice a cucumber instead!**

5.       Grill pitas until toasted, turning once. Transfer to plates and top with chicken, tzatziki, veggies, feta cheese, and garnish with fresh dill.

6.       Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda Schamel permalink
    April 11, 2011 10:37 am

    Sounds delicious!

    • April 11, 2011 1:10 pm

      Amanda,

      As soon as baby Schamel comes, I’ll whip up some greek pitas & serve you an ice cold microbrew!!! I know you’re dying for one!

      In the meantime, I’ll have a beer in your honor!

Leave a Reply

