Skip to content

Meatless Monday: Potato-Crusted Quiche

April 4, 2011

So, I have to admit that I have totally started stalking the recipes in the housekeeping magazines at work. I tear out the good ones and bring them home to try. Last week I found this Quiche recipe, which included ham, but I omitted the meat, and changed up a few other things to my liking. With the exception of the potato crust, this is a pretty basic Quiche, so next time I think I’ll “kick it up a notch,” and add some more vegetables. Mushrooms perhaps???

Ingredients

  • 5 Large eggs
  • 2 Large egg whites
  • 1 2/3 c. Low fat milk
  • 1 1/2 lbs. Potatoes, peeled & shredded
  • 1/3 c. Onions, diced (the recipe called for green onions, I improvised with yellow onions – it worked)
  • 2 Tbsp. Olive oil
  • 1/3 c. Gruyère cheese, shredded
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Parsley for garnish

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, egg whites, milk, 1/8 tsp. each of salt & pepper.
  3. Place shredded potatoes in a large, fine mesh sieve, and squeeze out as much moisture as possible with hands. **I don’t have a sieve, so I laid the potatoes on a plate, covered them with a clean, dry towel and squeezed the bejesus out of them. It worked.**
  4. Transfer potatoes to a large bowl and toss with onions.
  5. Heat a 12 inch iron skillet on medium-high until hot. Add the olive oil, and heat until very hot, brushing to evenly coat the bottom and side of the skillet. Add the potatoes, and quickly spread into a thin, even layer with a rubber spatula; all the way up to the rim, gently pressing the potatoes to form a crust. Be sure to patch any holes in the crust with more potatoes – this will keep the egg mixture from sticking to the skillet. Cook 3 minutes, or until the potatoes start to brown.
  6. Pour in the egg mixture, and then sprinkle cheese evenly over the top.
  7. Bake for 20 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Garnish with parsley, plum tomatoes, or whatever suits your fancy.
  8. Enjoy!

Click here for the GH version of the recipe.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 10:33 am

    Wow, that looks awesome. Love gruyere.

  2. April 4, 2011 1:57 pm

    Thanks! This recipe was my first experience with gruyère, and I absolutely love it! Since then, I’ve been making a simple spinach salad with the cheese, dried cranberries and oil & vinegar. It’s a perfect blend of flavors, and I think its my new go-to salad!

    You’ve got a great blog, btw. I’ll be making those honey Brussels sprouts ASAP!

Leave a Reply

