Skip to content

Meatless Monday: Chilaquiles Casserole

March 28, 2011

My to-do list is overwhelming this week, and it sucks so much that I’d like to share it with you all:

  1. Grocery shopping: I worked all weekend, so there is no food in the house.
  2. The washing machine broke last week, and I can’t even get it looked at until tomorrow, so laundry is piling up and I have to get caught up at the laundromat – DISLIKE!
  3. There are two documentaries on hold for me at the library, so I’ve got to get over there and pick them up.
  4. My Nelly dog is sick, and is overdue for a trip to the vet.
  5. I have family in town to visit with this week. This is not a bad thing, I’m just busy!
  6. We have a birthday party to attend this weekend – at a play/pizza parlor – I hate those places!
  7. We have 2 days of preschool, 2 yoga classes, 2 days of baseball practice and I work 3 shifts! I thought I wanted to live the simple life?
  8. I could go on and on, but I won’t bore you. To top it all off, the hubby has to work 6 days this week, so I’m on my own!

Okay, I’m done asking for pity and I’m ready to conquer! We are eating casseroles this week. Lots of casseroles, and lots of casserole leftovers! To keep with our Meatless Monday tradition, this afternoon I’ll be making this mexican casserole, which should feed us for at least 2 days. I’ve been making it for a few years now, and it’s easy and yummy!

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 medium zucchini, grated
  • 1 19-ounce can black beans, rinsed
  • 1 14-ounce can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 1/2 cups corn, frozen (thawed) or fresh
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 12 corn tortillas, quartered
  • 1 19-ounce can mild red or green enchilada sauce
  • 1 1/4 cups shredded Cheddar cheese

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Lightly coat a 9-by-13-inch baking pan with cooking spray.
  2. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and cook, stirring often, until starting to brown, about 5 minutes. Stir in zucchini, beans, tomatoes, corn, cumin and salt and cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are heated through, about 3 minutes.
  3. Scatter half the tortilla pieces in the pan. Top with half the vegetable mixture, half the enchilada sauce and half the cheese. Repeat with one more layer of tortillas, vegetables, sauce and cheese. Cover with foil.
  4. Bake the casserole for 15 minutes. Remove the foil and continue baking until the casserole is bubbling around the edges and the cheese is melted, about 10 minutes more.
  5. My hubby likes to toss a dollop of sour cream on top, and garnish with cilantro. It improves the presentation, and tastes great too!

Oh, and if anyone wants to volunteer to be my personal assistant this week, please feel free!!!

**Picture compliments of Eating Well. Click here for a printer friendly version of this recipe.**

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 11:03 am

    Looks delicious! Stopping by from the MMM blog hop!

Leave a Reply

