Skip to content

Growing Greener.

March 25, 2011

My family has been on the green kick for a few years now, and we’ve made a lot of green improvements in our lifestyles. We recycle everything our community allows, we reuse, reduce and repurpose whenever possible, and we have made the switch to non-toxic cleaning and other household products. I’m really proud of the effort my family has made to reduce our environmental impact, and I take pleasure in knowing that each one of us is truly invested in this healthy cause.

We know that there is much more we can do, and we are constantly working to incorporate new green initiatives into our household, or to improve on old ones. There are some bigger projects I have wanted to tackle for some time, and now that we have built a green foundation, I think we’re ready to take them on.

I have set four important goals for us this year, and will provide updates to keep you informed of our progress, and share any tips we’ve learned:

  • Start a compost pile
  • Build a rain barrel
  • Plant a garden
  • Preserve vegetables from said garden

Our big goals aren’t the only steps we will take to continue our green growth this year. Fellow blogger, Shannon, at Working Mom Goes Green introduced me to Practically Green: a website that is packed full of information that makes the switch to green living easy! The site includes a quiz to establish your current “green-ness,” recommendations to incorporate (along with info on why these changes are necessary), and even allows you to track your progress! I took the quiz last week, and have been combing through all the recommendations to set several smaller goals for us. Here are some of our smaller goals:

  • Track our trash for 1 week: Let’s just see what we actually go through in a week!
  • Sign up for junk mail/catalog reduction services
  • Switch all paper goods to recycled versions, and specifically, look for recyclable or compostable products. This applies to toilet paper, paper towels, and party ware
  • Use cloth napkins
  • Continue efforts to reduce product packaging
  • Install smart power strips to turn off electronics completely when not in use
  • For the kids – opt for eco-friendly toys, and art & school supplies

I think these should keep us busy for a while!

I’d like to hear from you – What changes have you made in your household? What changes would you like to make? What is your favorite part of living green? What overwhelms you?

For those of you who haven’t gone green, remember, going green isn’t just about the environment, it’s about our health!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2011 5:29 pm

    We use stringless tea bags and save the dried tea after we brew for fertilizing flowers in the yard. I do dhte same thing with coffee grounds. I switched to using baking soda for a lot of cleaners.

    We planted a large garden several years ago, but it was way more work and way less yield than it was worth for 2 of us. I love to can though and buy pork when it is on sale and can in 1 pint cans. I’m hoping to try canning chicken breasts soon. My mom cans green beans that keep us all well fed through the winter. We canned a lot more when I was growing up.

    Good luck with all your projects.
    Kathleen

  2. March 25, 2011 7:53 pm

    Thanks, Kathleen! I’m trying not to “count my chickens before they’re hatched,” but I’m really, really looking forward to canned tomatoes to get us through the winter. I want to make my own pizza sauce and salsa! Oh, all the plans I have!

  3. March 26, 2011 1:40 pm

    nice shout out 🙂 practically green is an awesome site.

  4. Bryan Ford permalink
    March 27, 2011 10:45 am

    Carpooling. My wife and I ride together to work every day. We’re fortunate enough to work in the same building, so it makes it a no-brainer, but a small sacrifice (sometimes she needs to stay later or get there earlier) and we have completely cut back the amount of driving the both of us do.

  5. March 27, 2011 11:10 am

    Carpooling is a great way to save money, and use less gas! Living in the country, this is one place we fall short! I try to limit my trips into town to one a day, but we’ve definitely upped our gas usage & the wear and tear on the cars since moving out here. I think there are some positive trade0ffs, but I would loooove to not have to drive so much!

    Thanks for the input, Bryan!

Leave a Reply

