Skip to content

Do Without: The Coffee Fast

March 18, 2011

Ten days ago I gave up coffee. It was my beverage of choice. If there were support groups for coffee drinkers I would have to stand up and say, “Hi. My name is Catie, and I’m a coffeeaholic.” The smell of freshly ground coffee beans makes me happy. I love the way a mug warmed by coffee feels in my hands; and don’t get me started on the flavor. Oh, the fabulous flavor. Still, Midnight Maniac challenged me to do without, and I accepted her challenge head-on.

How have I done? Well, I haven’t had a sip in ten days. I took the challenge seriously, but honestly, I expected to have caved by now. I haven’t exactly made it easy on myself either: In the past week, I have baked two loaves of delightful chocolate chip zucchini bread, and at least 4 dozen delicious oatmeal farmer cookies – both of which are perfectly paired with a cup of steamy coffee. I also made my first visit to a local restaurant that is rumored to serve “the best coffee.” Words can’t describe how hard it was to resist a cup there. Nonetheless, I have been successful, and have thus far abstained from drinking coffee.

Here are a few words of wisdom and inspiration for those of you who, ahem, lack my supreme self discipline skills:

“About the only time losing is more fun than winning is when you’re fighting temptation.”   ~Tom Wilson

Respect your efforts, respect yourself. Self-respect leads to self discipline. When you have both firmly under your belt, that’s real power.”   ~Clint Eastwood

 

P.S. This is a follow-up post. Please read here for original post.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 3:46 pm

    Wow, you’re doing great! I don’t drink coffee, but I imagine it would be hard to give up. Like me forgoing my Mountain Dew. It would get ugly.

    Only 4 weeks to go now, hang tough!

    ♥ Rebecca Jean
    Midnight Maniac

Leave a Reply

