Skip to content

Breakfast at the Muddy Boots Cafe.

March 16, 2011

I got a call from my dad and his wife, Katy (who wouldn’t allow me to photograph her) this week, offering to take the kids & I to breakfast at a restaurant in nearby Nashville that I’ve been wanting to go to since learning about it a few months ago – The Muddy Boots Cafe. Brown County is a touristy place, but my dad lives there and tells me that the Muddy Boots is a place for locals.

The cafe offers great tasting, made from scratch meals, local products such as locally roasted coffee, baked goods and ice cream, and even some cool artwork & retail. They even cater to vegetarians – with an ample selection of vegetarian options.

Katy & I ordered the vegetarian breakfast burrito sans tortilla, my dad got the biscuits & gravy, and the kids both had eggs, toast and a slice of bacon. The food was really, really great! My dad swears they have the best coffee, which was really hard for me to resist, but they offer great teas which you brew & serve yourself in a press. I was impressed, and ordered the harmony garden herbal tea blend. I have no idea what was in it, but it was tasty.

I also really enjoyed the atmosphere  & decor. When we walked in, our server offered games, coloring books & crayons to the kids. We have a lot of restaurants in the area that offer natural, local foods, but NONE of them are kid-friendly. This was a nice change of atmosphere! The decor is fun with mismatched furnishings, interesting artwork, and patchwork curtains. I really liked it!

We had a great breakfast, and my kids had fun visit with their grandparents! It was an outing worth sharing!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda Schamel permalink
    March 16, 2011 3:38 pm

    Scott and I love the Muddy Boots Cafe! Whenever we’re in Brown County we make a point of eating there. In fact, for my bithday a couple years ago I just wanted to rent a little cabin and eat at Muddy Boots. And your dad is right, they really do have the best coffee. We always get a bag of beans to bring back home with us.

    • March 16, 2011 10:19 pm

      We need to meet up at The Muddy Boots sometime soon. I’m really itching to get Erik over there!

Trackbacks

  1. Do Without: The Coffee Fast « Earth Becomes Me

Leave a Reply

