Skip to content

I Can’t Believe I’m Giving Up Coffee (for 40 days, that is)!!!

March 8, 2011

Yep, I said it. Those who know me, know this is madness. I’m doing it nonetheless. Thanks to a challenge by fellow blogger, Midnight Maniac , I have decided to go without my favorite beverage for the 40 days of Lent.

I’m not catholic, but there is something gratifying in going without, I think. So many people believe that living in excess is our right as Americans, and nothing good is coming out of it. It’s pretty much my personal philosophy to distance myself (and my children) from overconsumption, and the notion that we should have it all. I am working towards a simpler life, and I think taking this challenge is a step in the right direction. Beginning tomorrow, my coffee maker will go in the closet until April 23rd. Hopefully I’ll have the strength to leave it there!

Oh, and click here to view Midnight Maniac’s post and join the challenge!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 8:21 am

    Good luck! Day 1 of no sweet begins for me!

    • March 9, 2011 10:04 am

      Good luck to you too! My coffee pot looked so lonely this morning – It’s going in the closet so I don’t have to look at it!

  2. March 9, 2011 4:28 pm

    Good luck to both of you! I did some last minute thrifting to get my final shopping fix. It will be window shopping from here on out.

    The first “Do without” linky is up. Come add your links: http://midnightmaniac.com/post3097

    ♥ Rebecca Jean
    Midnight Maniac

  3. Michelle permalink
    March 9, 2011 4:50 pm

    Good luck…I could never give up my morning cup of coffee! I linked up and gave up wine. I must have had too much wine when I made the decision. But a promise is a promise. On a positive note, I think it will net about $500 in the bank after 40 days. Look forward to read your progress.

Trackbacks

  1. Do Without: The Coffee Fast « Earth Becomes Me

Leave a Reply

