Skip to content

Chemical Free Hair Detox: Week Two

February 17, 2011

I’m on my second week of chemical free hair care, and my hair changes after every shampoo. As I mentioned in the first post, I’m using Bubble & Bee Organic Lemon Shampoo to detoxify my hair, and will hopefully continue to use this shampoo after the detox is over.

I’ll start with the good stuff: My hair is definitely more shiny, and each strand feels a bit thicker and stronger. I’ve also got a pretty good system set up and I can get through the wash fairly quickly. The results after today’s wash were the best so far.  I didn’t use any baking soda, but did two vinegar rinses.

Now for the negatives: I’m still having a few issues with oily hair (or at least I was before today’s wash). I have tried combating the greasiness by adding baking soda to the shampoo, and it works really well for the oil factor; but my hair tends to feel dry and straw-like instead. The up-side is that I can go 2 full days without having to wash it, and the down-side is that it kinda looks like crap. Also, my hair is not responding well to being styled at all. If I just wash & go it looks pretty good, but curling or flat ironing is not working out too well. I’m definitely going to get a few inches cut off, and see if that improves the overall condition – I think some hair needs to go.

Overall, I’m happy with the shampoo so far. It has a few downsides, but no more so than any commercial product on the market – and its natural & chemical free, so it still comes out ahead in my book!

I’ll post again after the haircut for a final update!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

