Skip to content

I’m GREEN and I’m proud!!!

February 13, 2011

Lately it seems that the “green” initiative is everywhere. We are being bombarded with products claiming to be natural, more environmentally friendly, and healthy; and we are being asked to reduce our consumption of certain products and energy. In addition, there is no shortage of resources out there telling us how to go about doing so, and that everyone should be jumping on the green bandwagon! Why is it, then, that every time I go to the grocery store, I’m one of the few people shopping with reusable bags (one of the easiest and first steps in going green)?

The answer: Green is a choice, and it requires a level of effort and acknowledgement that many, many people care not to embrace.

While I have always appreciated nature and been conscious of my impact on the environment, it wasn’t until my children were born that I really opened my eyes to what was happening to our planet. I always thought recycling was pretty good, but I quickly learned that there is so much more that needs to be done, and so much more that I could do. I watched the documentary Food Inc. and it changed my life. I started devouring books at the library, and spent hours surfing the internet to learn about the current food system and the toxic chemicals that are in the products we buy. These toxins all end up in the environment in one way or another – and many of them pass through our bodies in the process.  The bottom line is that humans have done some serious damage to our planet, and we have already begun paying the price.

I’ve chosen the green lifestyle because I want my children (and their children) to live healthy, happy lives. I want them to breathe clean air, drink safe water, and enjoy the biodiversity that is so precious to the planet and enriches our lives as well. I’m green because I care about the vitality of the earth. I’m green and I’m proud!

With every decision we make, there are consequences. We can be kind to the planet; and it will change our lives for the better; or we can ignore it and watch each new generation live sicker, and die younger than the one before it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

