Skip to content

Chemical Free Hair Detox: Week One

February 9, 2011

So, I’m finally ready to get this blog rolling.

I’ve been using Bubble & Bee Organic products for a while now, and I really like them. My favorite products to date are the organic deodorants, namely the Lemongrass Pit Putty. I’m a pretty stinky girl, so it took a few test drives to find the one that works best for me, but the lemongrass is amazing. My hubby is currently using the Spearmint & Tea Tree Pit Putty, and I love the way he smells! I’ve heard positive reviews about the Belly Balms I bought for my two expecting sisters-in-law, so I decided it was time to try out more of their products.

My hair has been driving me crazy since shortly after my daughter was born (3 years ago); it used to be one of my favorite assets, but now it’s a source of stress. I hate chemicals so I ordered some of the B&B Organic Lemon Shampoo. This product uses organic oils to cleanse the hair without stripping it of its natural oils and drying it out; and requires a detox period at the beginning of use to remove the plastic & protein coating conventional shampoos leave on hair to make it LOOK healthy. 

I am currently 4 shampoos into my detox, and I think it has been pretty successful. My hair was definitely a bit greasy in the beginning, and the greasiness peaked with yesterday’s wash, but today I added in some baking soda with the shampoo and my hair feels great. It’s soft, shiny, and I was able to comb through it super easily while it was still wet. It feels pretty dry at the bottom few inches, so I’m thinking I’m going to have to cut a bit off, but I’ll wait at least another week or two to make that decision.

Tips to make your detox successful:

1. Get a showerhead filter. Even if you don’t have hard water it’s better for your skin & hair to filter out the chlorine and other chemicals in the water. As a side note:  We installed a shower flow controller to our showerhead that allows us to completely shut off the water flow to save water while we lather up. How cool is that?

2. I used white vinegar for the first rinse, but it smelled awful & the smell lingered in my hair. After that I used apple cider vinegar and have had much better results.  Once my hair dries, the smell goes away.

3. Mix baking soda in with the shampoo if your hair seems too oily. I don’t know if my hair being super greasy yesterday was part of the detox, but my hair looked “wet,” with oil, and I can’t have that! I’m attributing today’s lack of oil to using the baking soda.

I’ll post an update in a week or so, but my hopes are that this becomes my new shampoo!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob Smith permalink
    February 10, 2011 11:13 pm

    Will this stuff help my hair?

Leave a Reply

